Late Night Pantoum

He held my hands, tightly by the wrist

You know you want it, he said

Over and over he said it

As he tore my nightgown open

You know you want it, he told me

More as a command than relief

As he tore my nightgown from me

Breathing heavy against my chest

He moved me, more as a command than relief

From my world, so tightly kempt

Breathing heavy against my chest

With my voice too shocked to exist

He burned my world, so tightly kempt

I tried to break free from him

But my body was too shocked to exist

And he got what he wanted

I tried to break free from him

But he held my hands, tightly on both wrists

And he got what he needed

Over and over again, as he said I wanted it

Leave a Reply

